Futures 2015: Appellation Puisseguin-Saint-Émilion

Puisseguin-Saint- Émilion is a satellite of its famous neighbor Saint-Émilion on the River Bank of Bordeaux. Merlot rules here, though it can be blended with cabernet franc, cabernet sauvignon and malbec. The 760 hectares of the appellation are comprised of clay and limestone with stone subsoil, making parts of the land extremely difficult to work. Its wines are full-bodied, rich ... Read More »

Futures 2015: Appellation Saint-Georges-Saint-Émilion

The appellation of Saint-Georges-Saint- Émilion is separated by the Barbanne River from Saint-Émilion, its more well-known neighbor. As with all Right Bank appellations, merlot is the main grape. Cabernet franc and cabernet sauvignon are also blended. Its 200 hectares have clay-limestone soils. Only red wines are produced. They offer an appealing tannic structure and full-bodied richness. Saint-Georges-Saint-Émilion wines benefit from ... Read More »

Futures 2015: Appellation Saint-Émilion

The only appellation that is also a UNESCO World Heritage site, the emblematic Saint-Émilion appellation includes both the AOC Saint-Émilion and the AOC Saint-Émilion Grand Cru. More than half of the vines grown are merlot, with a small percent of cabernet franc and an even smaller percent of cabernet sauvignon. The soils are comprised of clay and silt, studded in ... Read More »

Futures 2015: Appellation Haut-Médoc

The Haut-Médoc appellation is found south of the Médoc. Spread over 4800 hectares on clay-limestone soils, the Haut-Medoc includes the communes of Margaux, Moulis, Listrac, Saint-Julien, Pauillac and Saint-Estèphe. Cabernet sauvignon is dominant, though there is also some cabernet franc, petit verdot and malbec. The wines of the Haut-Médoc are powerful and deeply tannic. They benefit from several years of ... Read More »

Futures 2015: Appellation Sauternes

The appellation of Sauternes and its famous golden-hued wine are celebrated throughout the world. Sauternes has an extraordinary terroir of clay, gravel and limestone. Its wines are a blend of sémillon, sauvignon blanc and muscadelle grapes. To be classified as Sauternes, grapes must be affected by Botrytis Cinera – otherwise known as Noble Rot. Botrytis thrives in the appellation’s natural ... Read More »

Blog Awards 2016 – And the winners are…

The public vote is over, and the time has come to reveal the names of the 6 winners! It is our great pleasure to share the list of the 6 great winners for the 2016 Blog Awards edition! We would like to thank everyone who voted (1200 persons), as well as the 100 bloggers who competed, and the 18 other finalists for their participation ... Read More »

The 2016 Blog Awards Finalists

Our estimable jury has selected the finalists in each category for the 2016 Blog Awards! We would like to thank everyone who entered; the quality of writing was extremely high and it was not an easy task to narrow it down to just 24 finalists. Voting for the Grand Prize is now open! The finalist in each category with the most ... Read More »

Blog Awards 2016 edition – applications are now open!

Applications are now open! Apply Now Millesima created its Blog Awards in 2013 to honor the American wine blogging community and to share outstanding wine writing with its 80,000+ clients around the world. In 2016, we are excited to add new dimensions to the contest. The Blog Awards are Going Overseas! This year, the Blog Awards will have two zones: the ... Read More »

Blog Awards 2016 edition – the prizes!

Millesima has partnered with Bernard Magrez to provide this year’s prizes for both the finalists and grand prize winners. A leader and visionary in Bordeaux for the last 40 years, Bernard Magrez has never strayed from his quest for perfection in every bottle of wine. The only person to own four grand cru classés properties in Bordeaux, his vision of excellence guarantees connoisseurs of ... Read More »

Blog Awards 2016 edition – an outstanding jury!

We are thrilled to announce the judges who will select the finalists for the 2016 Blog Awards. As a reminder, we’ve made some changes to this year’s Awards. The 2016 edition has two zones: the USA and Europe. The two zones have the same 3 categories, each with separate winners and prizes. , There will be 4 finalists in each category ... Read More »